Texas Hill Country

Visiting family south of Austin this weekend I made time for a long ride through the hill country around Wimberley and Canyon Lake. It will be a long time until I see this particular corner of Texas again. I’m glad I had a chance to ride down here before we leave for California. Looking at the landscape today as I rode, I remembered how beautiful it is when the gentle rolling hills are blanketed with wildflowers, lush when winter fades. Sure, right now there aren’t deep blue hillsides of Bluebonnets, dotted red with Indian Paintbrushes but that’s the Hill Country I’ll take with me. There is beauty here, hiding under the parched summer grasses, sleeping in the shade of thirsty live oaks, waiting for Spring.

Hwy 306, not as it looked today but in the Texas Hill Country I'll remember.


Highway 306 near Canyon Lake definitely looks prettier in the spring but I’m glad to have a chance to say goodbye to this part of Texas.

Leave a Reply

